Sweet Escape to: Kyoto, Japan

DSCF0847.JPG

December 09 , 2016

So next stop after Universal Studio Japan day 3 is let’s get lost in Kyoto! From shin-osaka station we ride a Rapid express train (which means train stops at few stations) bound to Kyoto around 8 am.

Upon arriving at Kyoto station I’ve been mesmerized how amazing architecture it has. It’s a Futurist Architecture designed by Architect Hiroshi Hara. The station contains shopping malls, restaurants etc. and there is a Sky garden at the top which has the incredible view of the city.

KYOTOAnd today’s itinerary, First stop, Kinkaku-ji (Golden Pavilion) is a Zen Buddhist temple which the top two floors are covered with gold located at 1 Kinkakujicho, Kita Ward, Kyoto. Jeez, I love how it reflect on the pond with it’s perfect background. Admission fee cost for 400 yen (around 180 Php). Then, the famous Arashiyama Bamboo forest which I frequently seen on magazines. It’s so relaxing to stand still in the middle of the forest and just feel the breeze and breath the fresh air. What I really need after struggling with work stress for months.

KYOTO1.jpgAfter bamboo forest, we just roam around checking out stores & restaurant at Arashiyama. Until we accidentally found this fascinating place at randem tram station which is called Kimono forest and it’s free entrance.

kyoto2.jpg

Then we reach the Togetsu-kyo Bridge, its a wooden bridge that spans the Katsura River in front of Arashiyama Mountain. How I wish I was here in cherry blossom season. Another thing that makes me more in love with Arashiyama is the attractive lantern at Hankyu Arashiyama Station its so nice and not crowded.

Lunch in a mall somewhere near Takashimaya… I guess? (I’m really sorry I can’t barely remember the mall name & restaurant name HAHA!) So what did we eat for lunch see pictures below.

KYOTO3.jpg

After lunch we just roam around a bit at the mall before heading to our next destination. Because my brother is so eager to go shopping. At 3 PM finally heading to Fushimi Inari-taisha, it is famous for it thousand torii gates. The moment when my eyes light up when I see these torii gates and I’m not dreaming I can really touch it. Gosh, I can’t believe i’m seeing it on my naked eye. Anyway trails lead into the wooded forest of the sacred Mount Inari but since when we arrived it’s about 5 PM and it’s getting dark we decided not to hike. Admission is Free.

KYOTO4.jpg

DSCF1005.JPG

Two dense rows of torii gates

6 PM heading to Aeon Mall Kyoto, like I said a while ago my brother is so eager to go shopping. And 8 PM headed back to Osaka. Like I said on my first post about my japan trip we mostly get around by trains.

I’ll be sharing next is my trip to Nara. I’m really sorry for posting late I was really occupied by work. Yeah I’m working 5 days in a week and I only have 2 days to unwind.

♥ Sincerely, Mary Joy

Leave a Reply

